You are here: Home / News & Events / News / Wrist news | Winners of 2014 Seafarers’ Awards

Winners of 2014 Seafarers’ Awards

9 April 2014

The winners of the 2014 International Seafarers' Welfare Awards were announced on Monday 7th of April during a high profile ceremony hosted by the Secretary General of the International Labour Organisation (ILO), Mr Guy Ryder at the ILO in Geneva, Switzerland.

Winners of 2014 Seafares’ Awards
Guy Ryder (2nd Left) & Lise Maria Poulsen (centre) of Wrist Ship Supply with the Seafarer Centre of the Year Winners from Flying Angel Club, Fremantle, Australia, (left) Colin Brown, (right) Ann Robinson and Dennis Claughton.

The winners are:
• Judges Special Award : Ms Apinya Tajit, Thailand
• Shipping Company of the Year: Wallem Ship Management
• Port of the Year: Port of Antwerp, Belgium
• Seafarer Centre of the Year: Flying Angel Club, Fremantle, Australia
• Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year Award: Fr Paul Noel, Durban, South Africa

Wrist Ship Supply is sponsoring Seafarer Centre of the Year Awards.

Commenting on the evening Roger Harris, ISWAN Executive Director, said: "The awards recognise excellent achievement and they inspire others to do more for the welfare of seafarers. We are particularly pleased that the awards are being held at the ILO with the Maritime Labour Convention eight months in force."